loader
Page is loading...
generic_insight_detail

New California Employment Laws Take Effect on July 1, 2014—Increased Minimum Wage, Expanded Paid Family Leave and Further Limits on Background Checks


California employers should be prepared to comply with several new laws that take effect on July 1, 2014. These new laws will increase California’s minimum wage from $8.00 to $9.00 per hour, expand the list of family members for whose care employees are eligible to receive Paid Family Leave wage-replacement benefits and further limit the background checks that state and local agencies can perform.  A more complete description of the new laws taking effect on July 1, 2014, can be found here.


LEAVE YOUR COMMENT

RELATED ARTICLES

California Supreme Court Rejects Workplace Arbitration Agreement

September 13, 2019 | Currents - Employment Law, Employment Lessons

California Court Rejects Motion To Arbitrate PAGA Claim Under State Labor Code

August 16, 2019 | Currents - Employment Law, Employment Lessons

Non-Compete Roundup: New Hampshire, Maine and Washington

July 16, 2019 | Currents - Employment Law, Non-competes and Trade Secrets

Federal De Minimis Rule Does Not Apply To California State Wage and Hour Claims

July 11, 2019 | Currents - Employment Law, Employment Lessons

Common Sense Prevails in California Wage Victory, Falters in PAGA Action

August 15, 2018 | Employment Lessons, Currents - Employment Law

Subscribe

Do you want to receive more valuable insights directly in your inbox? Visit our subscription center and let us know what you're interested in learning more about.

View Subscription Center
RELATED TOPICS
California
minimum wage
Paid Family Leave
Trending Connect
We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to use cookies.