Page is loading...
Print Logo Logo

New California Employment Laws Take Effect on July 1, 2014—Increased Minimum Wage, Expanded Paid Family Leave and Further Limits on Background Checks

California employers should be prepared to comply with several new laws that take effect on July 1, 2014. These new laws will increase California’s minimum wage from $8.00 to $9.00 per hour, expand the list of family members for whose care employees are eligible to receive Paid Family Leave wage-replacement benefits and further limit the background checks that state and local agencies can perform.  A more complete description of the new laws taking effect on July 1, 2014, can be found here.


Motorin’: CAFA Removal Upheld, California Wage and Hour Class Action Dismissed

August 26, 2020 | Currents - Employment Law, Workplace Culture and Conduct, Employment Lessons

Outbreak of COVID-19 Public Nuisance Cases Continues

August 7, 2020 | Currents - Employment Law, Employee Health Issues


Do you want to receive more valuable insights directly in your inbox? Visit our subscription center and let us know what you're interested in learning more about.

View Subscription Center
Minimum Wage
Paid Family Leave
Trending Connect
We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience. By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to use cookies.